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In accordance with South Dakota Codified Law (SDLC) 
5-25-1.1. Vehicles owned or leased by the state shall 
be used in conducting state business only.

Vehicle Usage Policy



State-owned vehicles are to be used for official state travel by 
state officers, employees, boards and commission members, 
consultants, authorized volunteers and authorized students of a 
state institution.

The vehicles should not be used for commuting to and from an 
employee’s office and residence unless otherwise requested by 
the respective department administrator and approved by the Fleet 
Manager.

State employees using state-owned vehicles are not permitted to 
transport family, friends, non-state business commuters, or 
animals except for “service animals”. 

Vehicle Usage Policy



All travel made in state-owned vehicles and privately 
owned vehicles must be entered on the state’s 
computerized Journey System. 

•Complete the South Dakota Travel Request form.

•Give completed Travel Request form to your agency 
travel coordinator to make the arrangements.

Scheduling Motor Pool Vehicles



If pool vehicles are not available and ride share is not 
accommodating, the drivers may drive their own vehicle, and high
mileage may be reimbursed to the state employee.

If pool vehicles are available, and the drivers opt to take their 
privately owned vehicle, low mileage may be reimbursed to the 
state employee.

Motor Pool vs. Privately Owned Vehicles –
Mileage Reimbursement

High mileage – $.42 per mile

Low mileage – $.23 per mile



Pick up vehicles at designated motor pool areas.

Present valid driver’s license and State Employee ID

Regents employees and students should have a valid 
University ID and driver’s license

Picking up Motor Pool Vehicles



If departure is scheduled before the motor pool office opens, pick 
up vehicle keys the afternoon prior to departure, otherwise pick
them up the day of travel.

Pierre office is open: Monday-Friday, 7:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Pierre office phone # :  605-773-3162

Fleet & Travel 24 hour Assistance #:  800-543-3272

When can I pick up keys?



What’s your responsibility?

• No tobacco products or alcoholic beverages allowed in vehicle
• No firearms unless required for State of South Dakota 

employment
• Drivers shall observe all speed limits and traffic laws
• Safety belts will be worn at all times



What’s your responsibility?

• Keep vehicle clean
• Check oil and tires
• Obtain work orders numbers for oil changes and repairs over 

$35.00. Call 1-800-543-2372 or 1-605-773-3162 (Pierre area) to 
obtain work order number.

• Deliver and pick up your assigned vehicles to and from shops 
when Preventive Maintenance or Repairs are required

• Report problems, vandalism, theft, and accidents to Fleet and 
Travel Management



What’s your responsibility?

• Record beginning and ending mileage
• Call travel coordinator or 1-800-543-2372 if journey needs to be 

extended or canceled
• Notify Fleet and Travel Management of any vehicle problems
• Fill tank with gas upon return and clean the windshield
• Remove litter and trash from vehicle
• Wash vehicle if needed, coupons available from Fleet and 

Travel Management office
• Close windows and lock vehicle after returning it to its proper 

parking place



Public Complaints about State Drivers

1. Fleet and Travel Management will investigate as to the validity of the 
complaint.

2. The driver or their supervisor will receive a call or letter from Fleet 
and Travel Management regarding the complaint.

3. After Fleet and Travel Management speaks with the 
driver/supervisor it will be determined if further action is required on 
the complaint.

4. Any subsequent complaints against the state driver will result in a 
memorandum to the state driver detailing the alleged misuse.

5. A copy of the memorandum will be forwarded to the Department 
Secretary.

6. The Department Secretary will be requested to investigate the matter 
and deal with the employee under department personnel 
procedures.



Tickets or Citations

The driver of the state vehicle is responsible for any 
cost incurred for parking or moving violations received 
while operating the vehicle.



Vehicle Registration & Insurance Cards

The registration slip is stored in the glove box of each 
vehicle. If it is necessary to show the registration, 
please return it to its proper place. 

A yellow State of South Dakota Liability Coverage Card
(SDCL 32-35-124) will be proof of insurance coverage 
if involved in an accident. This should also be in the 
glove box.

If the registration slip or insurance card is not there, 
notify Fleet and Travel Management.



Winter Survival Kits

Fleet and Travel Management does not supply vehicles 
with “winter survival kits”. Drivers or departments may 
provide them.



Storage of Vehicles

Each state-owned vehicle shall be parked in a 
designated area at the workstation to which it is 
assigned (State Property either owned or leased). 

Individual drivers need prior approval from their 
supervisor and Fleet & Travel Management to drive 
vehicles to their residences and should provide off-
street parking whenever possible.



Lock Keys In Car

Call 1-800-543-2372

Driver responsible for all charges incurred 
for having vehicle unlocked



Late Return

If returning later than originally scheduled, 
contact your Travel Coordinator or call 

1-800-543-2372.



Want a vehicle assigned to you?

Before completing the Request Form the 
employee must have their supervisors approval

Complete the form:
Vehicle Assignment - Request Form

Form available at:
http://boa.sd.gov/Forms/VehicleRequest.aspx



Want a vehicle assigned to you?

Fleet and Travel Management will 
evaluate the request based on the 
following criteria, but not limited to:

– The availability of pool vehicles
– The agency’s need for a vehicle
– If assigned vehicles in current use are being 

utilized
– Priority of other requests



Want to modify the vehicle assigned to 
you?

Contact Fleet and Travel Management for 
any optional vehicle modification, (e.g., 
toolboxes, grill guards, spotlights, cell 
phones and radios).

– Generally, departments are responsible for 
payment of any optional vehicle modification



Vehicle Fueling

• A Voyager Credit Card is supplied with each vehicle to use at 
Commercial Stations. When fueling with the Voyager Card 
please check with the station for acceptance BEFORE fueling.

• To report a Lost or Stolen Credit Card call the Pierre office at
605-773-3162 immediately.

• A State Fueling Key is provided for fueling vehicles at 98 state
owned fueling sites across the state. A map of all locations and
hours of operation is provided in each vehicle.  If maps are 
needed by your office or department please call Fleet & Travel 
at 605-773-3162 .  It is highly recommended to use these sites 
when traveling in-state. The cost of Bulk fuel is lower than 
commercial stations and saves the state money.



Vehicle Fueling

• When fueling with the State Fueling Key 
at a DOT site and you encounter 
problems call the 800 Number listed on 
the DOT pump for assistance.

• For all other key problems at GFP & 
University sites please contact Fleet & 
Travel at 605-773-3162 for assistance.



Accidents

1. Contact law enforcement. If possible, do not move the vehicle 
until law enforcement officials have viewed it.

2. In case of an accident involving a fatality, serious bodily 
injury, or serious property damage, immediately contact 
Claims Associates, Inc. at their 24-hour emergency number, 
1-800-543-2372.

3. Report all accidents to Fleet and Travel Management
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM – call 605-773-3162
After hours – call 1-800-543-2372



Accidents

4. Obtain insurance information from the driver of any other 
vehicle involved. Also, obtain the name, address, and phone 
number of all people involved, including witnesses.

5. Make no statement to anyone that you were at fault or liable 
for the accident. When discussing the claim, give only facts, 
not your opinion.

6. Ask your Agency Risk Management contact person to supply 
you with the appropriate forms.



State Vehicle Accident Report

After an accident, the driver will be asked to complete a four-part form.

1. Obtain the accident report 48 hours after the accident from local law 
enforcement.

2. Attach the accident report to your four-part form and mail one copy 
to: Claims Associates, Inc., PO Box 488, Sioux Falls, SD 57101

3. Mail one set of copies to Risk Management and a set to the Agency 
Risk Management contact. Keep one copy for yourself.

4. The driver will gather three estimates of repair and fax those to Fleet 
and Travel Management at 605-773-3502.

5. Fleet and Travel Management will decide whether to repair the state-
owned vehicle based on the estimate.



Insurance/Liability Coverage

Eligible and approved drivers of state-owned vehicles are covered for 
liability by:

South Dakota Public Entity Pool for Liability (PEPL Fund)
1429 E. Sioux Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-5879

When a state-owned vehicle is driven on state business, the following 
coverage applies:

• All state employees are covered for workers’ compensation while in the course of their employment.
• Your belongings in the vehicle are not insured by the state. Your homeowner, renter, or private auto 

insurance may cover them.
• Your liability to other persons (bodily injury and property damage) due to your negligence in 

operating the state-owned vehicle on state business is covered through PEPL.
• Non-state employees who are on official state business and in state-owned vehicles are covered 

through PEPL.



Safe Operation of Cellular Phones

1. Turn the phone off before you start driving. Let callers leave a
message.

2. If passengers are in the vehicle, let one of them take the call.
3. If you are expecting an important call, let someone else drive.
4. If you have to make or receive a call, look for a safe opportunity 

to pull over and park.
5. Do not use your phone to text or use laptop computers while 

driving.



Safe Operation of Cellular Phones

If for some reason you have no alternative but to use a cellular phone 
while driving, here are some tips.

• Place the phone where it is readily available. Retrieving a phone 
from a briefcase or purse can be dangerous.

• Don’t answer the phone until it is safe to do so.
• Use speed dial options. 
• Driving and talking on the phone is difficult, do not make it worse 

by trying to take notes. Do pull over and stop.
• Keep calls short and factual.
• Ask the caller to hold, while you find a safe place to pull over and 

park or call them back when it is safe to do so.
• Stay in the right hand lane where driving may be less demanding.



On-Line Services are Available at:

http://boa.sd.gov/divisions/travel/

Vehicle Assignment or Replacement Request Forms
State Aircraft Scheduling Information
State Lodging Offering State Rates
State Fueling Site Location & Hours
Road Construction Map
Winter Road Condition Reports


